From Beginner to AWS Certified Developer: My Journey

From Beginner to AWS Certified Developer: My Journey

In this blog post I will discuss a few things that I did to achieve my AWS developer associate level certification.

My first attempt for AWS certification was way back in 2017, back then I was searching for a new job and thought having an AWS certification would improve my chances of getting hired. In 2017 the role I was working on was not heavily using AWS services, the only thing that I was doing there was serving a static website using s3 buckets, with this real-time experience and some reading from Udemy I gave my first attempt.

After the exam I was 99.9% sure that I am going to fail the exam, all the questions looked so familiar and so confusing at the same time. I got the result and to my surprise, I score around 680 marks and I think we need 720 marks to pass the exam. I failed the exam as I expected but I did not expect that I would get 680 marks so not bad.

After I wrote this exam, I was thinking to prepare more seriously this time and give it another try but life had other plans for me, I transitioned into a new job as a frontend developer at a government agency and they were using .net core not using any cloud-related services. So I continued on this job for almost three and half years and never thought about getting into cloud or cloud certification, I was reading about the new services that AWS was releasing but in these three and half years never worked on any cloud-related services hands-on.

After three and half years in march 2021 I was transitioned into another job, this time a start-up, I was hired as a front-end developer, but you know how startups work, I was given an opportunity to work on everything that the company uses and they use AWS for everything. I thought this is a great opportunity to get some hands-on experience and then start my AWS certification journey that I stop almost 4 years ago.

I started working on AWS services actively for almost 9 months to a year before beginning my prep for the AWS certification again. This time when started my prep I felt like I understood the topics or the AWS service more clearly.

Things I did to get my certification

  • I got good hands-on understanding of some of the major AWS services. (Lambda, dynamoDB, SQS, SNS, cloudwatch, EC2, S3, codepipeline, codedeploy, ElasticBeanStalk to name a few).

  • After that, I completed a course on a cloud guru platform https://learn.acloud.guru/course/aws-certified-developer-associate

  • I completed all the hands-on labs that are part of this course.

  • After completing this I felt like there are some missing pieces on this course opted for another course from Udemy

  • Take notes as you study so that, they can be used to review a couple of days before your exam.

  • There are some good white papers that I read not completely but read as much as you can.

  1. Practicing Continuous Integration and Continuous Delivery on AWS

  2. Implementing Microservices on AWS

  3. Serverless Architecture with AWS Lambda

Some of these might be archieved but the lastest white papers can found here
https://aws.amazon.com/whitepapers

When i am done with my prep work and felt confident that I can pass my exam, I started taking some mock exams, i took some mock exams on Whizlabs. This was basically my prep work and i passed my exam with good percentage. i cannot stress enough that while it is not mandatory to have hands-on experience using AWS services but it will definitely help you to achieve the certification. So i hope this will help will some one in achieving their certification.